Nederlands - Français - English

Image

In 1906, the working class houses in the Zebrastraat, built around a central oval square, were a wonderful example of innovative architecture. Unfortunately, due to a lack of investment, the site was gradually neglected and in complete decay by the 1990s. However, the tide would soon turn : in 2003, the Liedts-Meesen Foundation purchased the buildings and began the rehabilitation of the ‘Cirk’. From the very start of the renovation, the option was taken to bring together under one roof three main social activities, also called the three "pillars", on which the project Zebrastraat would grow.

At first instance, the original residential function was maintained: the pillar LIVING today still includes 72 apartments in the buildings surrounding the centre square. These are homes families can rent for short periods, starting from three months on. This creates a special mix of tenants. In addition, some furnished apartments are for rent to visitors who stay as a guest for only a few days or weeks.


Image

Secondly, a major economic activity was developed: the pillar SEMINAR ROOMS & EVENTS of Zebrastraat leases five fully equipped seminar rooms for academic conferences, seminars and board meetings. These rooms open onto a central lounge with bar, lounge, restaurant area and a fully equipped kitchen. All types of catering are possible, from simple coffee breaks to sophisticated dinners. In addition, the team of the Zebrastraat is also responsible for the overall organization of complex events such as product presentations, staff parties and fairs in the exhibition wing or in the tent in the central square.


Image

Whereas the first two pillars are managed in an economically justified way, this consideration is of no importance to the pillar CULTURE Zebrastraat not only puts its infrastructure at the disposal, free of charge, for exhibitions, concerts, debates, film screenings and try-outs in order to create a forum to young artists and experimental currents; Zebrastraat besides also invests actively in organizing its own exhibitions and cultural events, among which the biennial "update" of the latest developments in the technological art is perhaps the best known example. It is not that difficult to bring together these three different activities under one roof. The actual and constant challenge lies in the cross-fertilization: only when the three pillars meet, mix together and - occasionally – collide with one another can a real added value be created. This is why the initiative ZebraPoint was founded: every Thursday residents, artists and seminar participants come together in the bar on the occasion of previews, concerts, debates or simply to have a friendly chat. It is then that Zebrastraat shows its true face.


Image

In 2013, Zebrastraat was extended with the new building New Zebra. There too, the three pillars are combined. There are 36 apartments and studios, a large conference room with a bar, and the restaurant Jour de Fête located. Additionally Zebrastraat was extended with an underground parking for 98 cars, an atrium and a third bar. Spread throughout the site also more than 25 works from the permanent art collection are on display.


Powered by @Assist

Nederlands - Français - English

Image

En 1906, les habitations sociales construites à la Zebrastraat autour d'une place centrale ovale, furent un magnifique exemple d'architecture novatrice. Malheureusement, en raison d'un manque d'investissements le site fut graduellement négligé et fut abandonné dans les années 1990. La marée allait bientôt tourner : en 2003, la Fondation Liedts-Meesen acheta les bâtiments et commença la rénovation du «Cirk» (nom sous lequel le site était connu). Dès le début de la rénovation, nous avons oeuvré constamment pour rassembler trois activités sociales importantes sous un même toit: ce sont les trois «piliers» sur lesquels le projet s'est ensuite développé.

Pour commencer, la fonction résidentielle d'origine est restée inchangée: le pilier VIVRE comprend aujourd'hui toujours 72 appartements dans les bâtiments entourant la place centrale. Ce sont des maisons que des familles peuvent louer pour de courtes périodes, de trois mois ou plus. Cela crée un mix d'habitants spécial. En outre, certains appartements meublés sont à la disposition de visiteurs qui ne restent que quelques jours ou quelques semaines.


Image

Deuxièmement, une activité économique majeure a été développée: dans le pilier EVENEMENTS, Zebrastraat peut offrir cinq salles de séminaire entièrement équipées, pour des conférences académiques, des séminaires et des réunions de travail. Ces salles s'ouvrent sur un lounge central avec bar, salon, espace restauration et une cuisine entièrement équipée. Tous types de restauration sont possibles, de la simple pause-café à des dîners sophistiqués. En outre, l'équipe de Zebrastraat est également responsable de l'organisation globale des événements complexes, tels que des présentations de produits, fêtes du personnel et des foires dans l'aile destinée à des expositions ou dans le chapiteau sur la place centrale.


Image

Si les deux premiers piliers sont gérés en fonction de leur retombée économique, il en va différemment pour le pilier CULTURE. Zebrastraat non seulement met son infrastructure gratuitement à disposition pour des expositions, concerts, débats, projections de films et try-outs afin de créer un forum pour de jeunes artistes et des courants artistiques expérimentaux ; mais Zebrastraat investit également d'une manière active dans l'organisation de ses propres expositions et manifestations culturelles, dont la biennale « update », avec sa mise à jour des derniers développements dans l'art technologique, est peut-être l'exemple le mieux connu. Ce n'est pas très difficile de regrouper trois activités différentes sous un même toit. Le défi réel et constant réside dans la fertilisation croisée: seulement quand les trois piliers se rencontrent, se mélangent et - parfois – entrent en conflit, une valeur ajoutée réelle est générée. C'est pourquoi l'initiative Zebrapoint a été mise en place: Chaque jeudi, des résidents, des artistes et des participants aux séminaires se rassemblent dans le bar à l'occasion de vernissages, de concerts, de débats ou juste pour bavarder amicalement.


Image

En 2013, le « Cirk » a été agrandi avec le nouveau bâtiment New Zebra. Les trois piliers sont également combinés au sein de ses murs. Il y a 36 appartements et studios, une grande salle de conférence avec un bar et le restaurant Jour de Fête. En plus, le site de Zebrastraat a été étendu avec un parking souterrain pour 98 voitures, un atrium et un troisième bar. Dispersés à travers le site se trouvent plus de 25 œuvres de la collection d’art permanente.


Powered by @Assist