Nederlands - Français - English

:: A. Philosophy, characteristics of new technological art, content and purpose
Article 1 - Philosophy
Article 2 - Properties of technological art
Article 3 - Objectives and contents

Article 1 - Philosophy

Despite the growing interest in various forms of artistic realizations, this nevertheless still is confronted with some limitations. Contemporary art is gaining in importance, but is only one facet of the overall contemporary artistic production. Art inspired by and in contact with the technological developments of today is not a mainstream interest. It is our aim to promote these contemporary art forms and further open them up to a wider audience.

From the very beginning, the Liedts-Meesen Foundation has made a clear choice for these little known forms of artistic expression. This conscious choice is consistent with the transnational goals of the foundation.

This award is thus restricted to new technology art.

What the word cannot voice or what the letter cannot express is completed by artistic talent, but a lasting expression was realized through canvas and paint in the form of a two dimensional image, or through the cutting and grinding of stone or wood in order to create three-dimensional objects.

In the past, artists had few ways to help to express their emotions, commitment and values. New forms have emerged: architecture, music, choreography, photography, cinematography, broadcasting, multimedia, ... have widened the boundaries of artistic expression and many restrictions from the past have been lifted. Today new sciences are used such as electronics, telecommunications, biology and genetics, as well as new materials such as steel, glass, plastics and fluids.

We situate the new technological art in these domains. This implies the use of new technologies, processes or materials but only as part of an artistic creation that does not neglect the aesthetics and artistic expression.

Article 2 - Properties of technological art

A classification of this multitude of shapes, colours and sounds on ever changing carriers is almost impossible to make, but some features are always coming back.

The creations are transnational or have universal characteristics: boundaries of religion, philosophy, economic background and geography are of no importance, thanks to the fact that the selected carriers are universally spread. Artists in this sense belong to a group who has become citizens of the world through the Internet. Technological Art thus quite easily exceeds the boundaries and must be open to very different sensibilities. A work of Technological Art belongs to the global culture and does not belong to the tradition nor the characteristics of minorities.

In the past, a painting or a sculpture could trigger emotions, could make a teenager blush, but the interaction was not reciprocal or was in any case limited. In works of technological art, the individual can directly or indirectly intervene in what he sees, hears, smells or feels. By manoeuvres like blowing, shouting, ... he/she can directly influence the outcome of the creation. Indirectly he/she may intervene in the chemical, electronic or software processes and thus the necessary degrees of freedom, in order to influence the full interactivity and reciprocal creation. This was not possible in earlier art forms, even for music, film or broadcasting. There may have been some attempts in theatre and architecture, but this activity was limited and usually not constructive.

The great diversity of these technologies and the unclassifiable nature of this technological art can be seen as an attribute. The topics are endless, every day the carriers are improved and updated. New tools and technologies arise. In most works the originality and the use of several procedures or techniques in parallel plays a major role. Finally, these resources are deployed in the various existing forms of art. This combination of resources also increases the diversity.

Article 3 - Objectives and contents

The New Technological Art Award from the Liedts-Meesen Foundation aims to reward young living artists for a work in the area defined above that was created in the past two years. The prize goes to a specific work that is submitted and not to different realizations of an artist.

:: B. Organization
Article 4 - Timing
Article 5 - Location
Article 6 - Setting-up

Article 4 - Timing

After the announcement, the artists have the opportunity to introduce, between November 1, 2015 and April 1, 2016, a detailed description of their project. During the month of May 2016, 20 projects will be selected and announced by June 1, 2016 on the website. These projects will then be realized in order to be exhibited from November 5 till December 4, 2016.

Article 5 - Location

The 20 nominated projects by the jury will be exhibited at various locations of the site of the Zebrastraat and the Roman Saint-Jacobs church in the centre of Ghent. The organizers of the competition reserve the right to choose the exact locations.

Article 6 - Setting-up

A minimum of one week is foreseen for the installation of the exhibition. The installation will be discussed individually with each artist in detail, as well as the assistance the Liedts-Meesen Foundation can provide. The exact modalities of the installation will be agreed with the artist, based on the file that was submitted.

:: C. Selection and assessment
Article 7 - Conditions of Participation
Article 8 – Selection
Article 9 – Evaluation

Article 7 - Conditions of Participation

All living artists, regardless of their origin, can present their candidacy for art works less than two years old at the time of its submission, but which may already have been exhibited. Each artist may submit only one work. The contest is international and uses English as main language. Registration is only possible on line by using an application form available on this website. This form cannot be sent unless all mandatory fields have been completed.

Article 8 – Selection

For the Update_6/NTAA exhibition an international jury will select 20 works to be exhibited. The same jury will determine the exact location for the various artworks. The main criterion in this respect will be the degree of conformity with the objectives and the subject of the competition. Works that cannot be displayed for safety reasons or because of their dimensions (number of m² or m³ needed), will be rejected. The limitations of this nature can only be assessed by the jury or the responsible parties of the locations.

Article 9 – Evaluation

At the end of the exhibition and at the occasion of the international colloquium, the jury will award one single artwork. During the entire duration of the exhibition, each visitor can, with his or her entrance ticket, vote in favour of a work; the highest number of votes will determine the price of the public. The price of the European Commission will be given to a work that adds value to the European Union.

:: D. Candidature
The applications can only be submitted by completing the registration form on this website. They must be submitted by March 31st, 2016 at the latest. All applications received after that date will be rejected.
:: E. Administration
Article 10 - Prize
Article 11 - Publication
Article 12 - Dispute

Article 10 - Prize

For 2016, the Liedts-Meesen Foundation has foreseen a cash prize. This indivisible prize is awarded to a single artwork and its creator. In addition to this prize, the jury is entitled to award an honorary mention to one of the artists. There is also a prize from the public linked to the contest. This entitles the winner to a presentation, after the contest, in a European museum. There’s also a price of the European Commission.

Article 11 - Publication

Each participant grants to the Liedts-Meesen Foundation the reproduction rights of his/her work selected for the contest.

Article 12 - Dispute

All disputes concerning this organization, for which these rules are inconclusive, will be decided by the jury and/or the Liedts-Meesen Foundation.

Powered by @Assist

Nederlands - Français - English

:: A. Philosophie, caractéristiques de l'art technologique, contenu et objectifs
Article 1 - Philosophie
Article 2 - Caractéristiques de l'art technologique
Article 3 - Contenu et objectifs

Article 1 - Philosophie

Malgré l'intérêt croissant pour les diverses formes de réalisations artistiques, il reste néanmoins des limites. L'art contemporain gagne en importance, mais n'est qu'une facette de la production globale artistique contemporaine. De l'art, inspiré par et en contact avec les développements technologiques d'aujourd'hui, ne jouit pas d'un intérêt majeur. Notre objectif est de promouvoir cette forme d'art contemporain et de l'ouvrir davantage à un public plus large.

Dès le début, la Fondation Liedts-Meesen a clairement choisi cette forme peu dispersée d'expression artistique. Ce choix est cohérent avec les objectifs transnationaux de la fondation.

Ce prix est donc exclusivement réservé à l'art technologique contemporain.

Ce que les mots ne savent pas traduire et ce que les lettres ne peuvent pas exprimer est complété par le talent. Mais une expression durable se faisait à l'aide de la toile et de la peinture pour créer une image en deux dimensions, ou de la coupe et du broyage de pierre ou de bois pour créer des objets en trois dimensions.

Dans le passé, l'artiste disposait de peu d'outils pour exprimer ses émotions, son engagement et ses valeurs. De nouvelles formes sont apparues: architecture, musique, choréographie, photographie, la cinématographie, la radiodiffusion, le multimédia, .... qui ont élargi les limites de l'expression artistique, et de nombreuses restrictions du passé ont été levées. Aujourd'hui, on utilise les nouvelles sciences telles que l'électronique, les télécommunications, la biologie et la génétique, ainsi que de nouveaux matériaux comme l'acier, le verre, des plastiques et des fluides.

Nous situons le nouvel art technologique dans ces domaines. Cela implique l'utilisation de technologies, de procédés ou de nouveaux matériaux, mais seulement dans le cadre d'une création artistique qui ne néglige pas l'esthétique et l'expression artistique.

Article 2 - Caractéristiques de l'art technologique

Cette multitude de formes, de couleurs, de sons sur de plus en plus de nouveaux vecteurs rend une classification presque impossible, mais néanmoins certaines caractéristiques se rencontrent toujours.

Les créations ont des caractéristiques transnationales ou universelles: les frontières de la religion, la philosophie, le contexte économique et les frontières géographiques n'ont aucune importance, ceci grâce au fait que les vecteurs choisis sont répartis universellement. Des artistes de cette tendance sont devenus des cosmopolites à travers l'Internet. L'Art Technologique peut assez facilement dépasser les frontières et doit être ouvert à des sensibilités très différentes. Une oeuvre d'art technologique appartient à la culture mondiale et non pas à la tradition ni aux caractéristiques de minorités.

Dans le passé, une peinture ou une sculpture pouvait déclencher des émotions, faire rougir un adolescent, mais l'interaction n'a pas été réciproque ou l'a été en tout cas à un degré limité. Dans des oeuvres d'Art Technologique, l'individu peut, directement ou indirectement, intervenir dans ce qu'il voit, entend, sent ou ressent. Par des soufflements, par des cris, ... il peut directement influencer le résultat de la création. Indirectement, il peut intervenir dans les processus chimiques, électroniques ou informatiques et donc influencer les degrés de liberté nécessaires pour rendre l'interactivité complète et réciproque. Ce n'était pas possible dans les formes d'art antérieures, même pour la musique, le cinéma ou la radiodiffusion. Il peut y avoir eu quelques tentatives dans le théâtre et l'architecture, mais cette activité était limitée et n'était généralement pas constructive.

La grande diversité de ces arts technologiques et le fait qu'il n'y a pas de classification possible, peuvent être considérés comme un atout. Les sujets sont infinis, chaque jour, les vecteurs sont améliorés et mis à jour. De nouveaux outils et de nouvelles technologies surgissent. Dans la plupart des oeuvres, l'originalité et l'utilisation de plusieurs procédures ou techniques en parallèle joue un rôle déterminant. Enfin, ces ressources sont déployées dans les différentes formes d'art existantes. Cette combinaison de ressources augmente davantage la diversité.

Article 3 - Contenu et objectifs

Le New Technological Art Award de la Fondation Liedts-Meesen vise à récompenser de jeunes artistes vivants pour une oeuvre réalisée ces deux dernières années dans le domaine précisé ci-avant. Le prix est décerné à une oeuvre spécifique, et non pas à plusieurs créations d'un même artiste.

:: B. Organisation
Article 4 - Calendrier
Article 5 - Lieu
Article 6 - Installation

Article 4 - Calendrier

Après l'annonce, les artistes auront la possibilité, du 1er novembre 2015 au 31 mars 2016 au plus tard, d'introduire une description de leur projet. Dans le courant du mois de mai 2016, 20 projets seront sélectionnés et annoncés sur le site web au plus tard le 1er juin 2016. Ces projets seront ensuite réalisés pour être exposés du 5 novembre au 6 décembre 2016.

Article 5 - Lieu

Les 20 projets nominés par le jury seront exposés à divers endroits sur le site de Zebrastraat et dans l’église romane Saint Jacques dans le centre de Gand. Les organisateurs du concours se réservent le droit de choisir le lieu exact.

Article 6 - Installation

Au moins une semaine est prévue pour l'installation de l'exposition. La réalisation sera convenue en détail avec chaque artiste individuellement, ainsi que l'assistance que la Fondation Liedts-Meesen pourra fournir. La mise au point sera faite sur la base du dossier présenté et en concertation avec l'artiste.

:: C. Sélection et évaluation
Article 7 - Conditions de Participation
Article 8 – Sélection
Article 9 – Evaluation

Article 7 - Conditions de Participation

Tout artiste vivant, indépendamment de son origine, peut présenter sa candidature pour une œuvre qui a moins de deux ans au moment de l’introduction de la candidature, mais qui peut déjà avoir été exposée. Chaque artiste ne peut soumettre qu'une seule œuvre. La compétition est internationale et l'anglais sera utilisé comme langue principale. L'enregistrement peut uniquement se faire en ligne à l'aide du formulaire disponible sur ce site. Ce formulaire ne peut être envoyé que si tous les champs obligatoires ont été remplis.

Article 8 – Sélection

Pour l’exposition update_6/ NTAA un jury international choisira 20 œuvres qui seront effectivement exposées. Ce même jury déterminera les emplacements exacts des diverses œuvres d'art. Le principal critère sera le degré de conformité avec les objectifs et le sujet du concours. Des œuvres qui ne peuvent être montrées pour des raisons de sécurité ou de dimensions (nombre de m² ou m³ nécessaires), ne seront pas retenues. Les limitations de cette nature ne peuvent être évaluées que par le jury ou les parties responsables des divers emplacements.

Article 9 – Evaluation

À la fin de l'exposition, le jury décernera un prix à une seule œuvre d’art. Pendant toute la durée de l'exposition, chaque visiteur peut, avec son billet d'entrée, voter en faveur d'une œuvre, le plus grand nombre de votes déterminant alors le prix du public. Le prix de la Commission européenne va à un travail qui ajoute de la valeur à l’Union européenne.

:: D. Candidature
L'enregistrement des candidatures doit obligatoirement se faire en remplissant le formulaire d'inscription disponible sur ce site. Les candidatures doivent être présentées au plus tard le 31 mars 2016. Toutes les candidatures ultérieures ne seront pas prises en compte. Le formulaire doit être rempli en anglais.
:: E. Administration
Article 10 - Prix
Article 11 - Publication
Article 12 - Contestation

Article 10 - Prix

Pour 2016, la Fondation Liedts-Meesen a prévu un prix en espèces. Ce prix indivisible est attribué à une œuvre et à son créateur. À côté de ce prix, le jury est habilité à décerner une mention honorifique à un des artistes. Outre le prix du jury, il y aura un prix du public, lié au concours. Celui-ci donne droit à une présentation, après le concours, dans un musée européen. Il y a également un prix de la Commission européenne.

Article 11 - Publication

Chaque participant cède les droits de reproduction à la Fondation Liedts-Meesen pour l'œuvre sélectionnée dans ce concours.

Article 12 - Litiges

Tous les litiges relatifs à cette organisation, pour lesquels ce règlement ne s’avère pas concluant, seront décidés par le jury et/ou la Fondation Liedts-Meesen.

Powered by @Assist